FRISCO, TEXAS – Four goals in the second period by the defending National Champions propelled the Texas Tornado over the IceRays 4-1 on Thursday night inside the Dr. Pepper Arena.

After no scoring in the first frame, Nick Neville fired a shot past goaltender Hayden Stewart on the man advantage for a 1-0 lead just 50 seconds into the second period.

Leo Lumm made it 2-0 on a rebound goal assisted by CJ Reuschlein and Brett Heikkila at the 10:07 mark of the second.

Jason Eddy then took a shot from the left wing circle that landed on the stick of Michael Hoy after a rebound who picked up his only goal of the night at 11:38  to take a 3-0 lead.

The final strike of the contest for Texas came with 1:13 left in the middle period.  Brandon Hawkins added to his team lead in goals scoring from the top of the circles to move the lead to 4-0.

Corpus Christi avoided a shutout in the final period as Brandon Smith ripped a shot past Hunter Leisner just 4:50 into the period to pull the IceRays within three goals.  Assists were credited to Emil Romig and Wayland Williams.

Hayden Stewart stopped 26 of 30 shots through two periods until he was replaced by Ben Myers in the third who put aside all eight shots.

The IceRays are on the road tomorrow night as well against the Tornado.  Puck drops at 7:30PM, coverage begins at 7:15PM with the IceRays Pregame Show on 91.1FM KSGR,, or 

Stay current with the latest team news by visiting  In addition stay connected with the IceRays on Facebook (/corpuschristiicerays), Twitter (@goicerays), and the team’s Youtube channel ICERAYS TV (@goicerays)